Being A Better Blogger

A few months back (read: October 2008), I asked one of my favorite writers/bloggers for advice about blogging. I was wondering how I could go about garnering more readers while keeping, if not improving my style of writing. Back when I started blogging, I wanted to have one of those infamous blogs where I could end up with 100 comments from the posting of a YouTube clip or have thought provoking blogs.

A Writer’s Make: In jest, I talked about wanting to have a blog that could possibly rival my big sis’ blog. After thinking about it, I came to the conclusion that although I started blogging to voice my opinions on various matters, my intention had changed to that of a blogger that simply wanted hits and comments, and not of a blogger that wanted to post things of mental, personal and/or emotional value.

I Watch The Watchmen: ‘I want flash, I want to be able to host my own site on WordPress.org, I want color. I want to be able to showcase my photography and have interesting content. I want an original design from one of the best designers in the world. I want stuff to flip, spin and twist.’ And then I remembered that I’m a broke college student! When a site is user friendly, it is, in a way, inviting to readers. Also, it goes hand in hand with content; because, if you have content that’s easily accessible and enjoyable, then you’ll begin to gain a following. Sometimes, something of  simplicity is of more value than something of vast complexity.

A Call to Inter-Action! (Google Reader): Well before I started blogging, I was a reader and an infrequent commenter on LH’s ‘The Breaking Point’ and Monica Mingo’s ‘Rantings of a Creole Princess’. Although I may not comment on Monnie and LH’s blogs nearly as much as I used to, those are my two first stops when I log into my Google Reader account; and believe it or not, I found their blogs through Google when I was researching a topic. In order to gain a following, you have to network! If you become a regular commenter on a blog and you constantly bring fresh, new, or even controversial opinions to the table, people will start to come to your spot to see what you have to say about other things. In addition to doing that, starting an account on Twitter, Technorati, Digg and/or etc., is another way to garner a following. Many people use those sites for promotional purposes and get massive hits off of things that people deem relevant, comical or down right spiteful.

At the end of the day, if you want to have the best Celebrity Gossip Site (as if there aren’t 50 Zillion of those already) or even if you want to get 2 to 3 more comments on your personal blog, you have to make blogging work for you and what you intend on using it for. Keeping it simple, networking and coming with quality content are surefire ways to gain comments and a following.

Random Thought of the Moment:

“Writing gives you the illusion of control, and then you realize it’s just an illusion, that people are going to bring their own stuff into it.”
                                                                                               -David Sedaris

The Song of the Moment: “Flamenco Sketches” by Miles Davis

This entry was posted in Advice, Blogging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Being A Better Blogger

  1. Jose says:

    Wow, brran, it’s good to know that someone is using my “sage” advice. Anyways, it’s important for us to really have a plan when coming into the writing thing … that is, unless your plan is to have no plan. For many of the bloggers we consider pop, we don’t see that their writing is really a manifestation of their thought process when posting things down. They have a certain objective when they go into the writing. I personally have an objective, but it’s more broad than, say, a celebrity blogger or a social media blogger. As long as you build a community, no matter the size, it works. I believe that to be true anyways.

    • brran1 says:

      I don’t think that there is anything wrong with having an objective. At the end of the day, your reason for blogging is just that, regardless of how selfish or selfless it may be.

  2. LH says:

    As always, I appreciate the love, good sir.

    Honestly, there are times when I’m ready to let the whole blogging thing go, but then something or someone ignites me and I’m back at it. That said, I wouldn’t mind having some guest contributors from time to time.

    Keep up the good work.

    • brran1 says:

      Thanks LH, it’s much appreciated.

      I think it would be really interesting if you started having Guest Contributors *cough TIH cough* over at The Breaking Point. lol

  3. honestly i don’t get the sites with 50+ comments..seems like overkill. I find that i get more readers when I network though. blogging is alot like a job, only it doesn’t pay.

  4. Charles says:

    SuperDave is absolutely right…blogging is definitely like a pro bono job. It’s taken forever for me just to get my illustration blog off the ground, and its a struggle to get readers over there just to see my work. It takes alot, especially if you make a blog about something that seriously interests you. You gotta have the patience (which I’m losing) and just keep pushing at it.

  5. TravelDiva says:

    Great Post. I often reflect on many of the same things. My blog is for me…my personal online diary…but I do like having comments. I love to hear from the readership.

    I am always striving for better content, but sometimes my life is just dull…guess I’m going to have to get better at writing great regarding the mundane.

    Keep up the good work.

  6. Tiffany In Houston says:

    I saw that Brran1. I am guest posting at Babs already! You aint slick!

  7. i dont see my self as a blogger. i am a writer, i think a blog is a medium, like paper, i am not a paper

  8. Kriss says:

    I’ve been meaning to comment on this post. Those are some good tips. I know I write because I love it. Having a group of people that actually read my site and support me is the icing on the cake. I know (because I’ve done it before) that even if I had nobody reading my site I’d still probably keep it around. Now if I can share that with other people and get popular, well that’s great.

  9. I can dig this and its very informative

Leave a Reply

