Where I wanna be…

It’s almost 3:20 AM, and my ass is still awake (and fighting sleep for some odd reason). Just thinking about some random things wishing I was here:

Photobucket
Photobucket

(Florida not California by the way)

Is it possible for a person to get homesick for a place they’ve never spend more than 2 consecutive weeks? That’s really how I’m feeling at the moment. For those of you that haven’t caught on yet, the place in the pictures above is Hollywood, Florida. Hometown to the other half of brran1’s fam. I’ll refer to them as The Haitians. I haven’t been down there since March of last year when my paternal grandmother was on her death bed. Every time I go down there it’s like being in a totally different world (hell, anything is a different world once you’re outside of Baltimore.) When I go down there, I get to see my all of my aunts and uncles, and cousins, and I usually end up meeting new family members. I get to enjoy Haitian food (which I couldn’t stand when I first started eating it, but now I love it just as much as ma dukes cooking), and I just mainly get to enjoy the Floridian atmosphere. I end up relaxing, chilling with family, and taking in the sights (which does include Miami & Miami Beach) and just making the most of my time down south.

How is it possible that I dread going down there because I know that I’ll eventually have to return home? How is that I feel that once I get down there I don’t want to leave because the atmosphere is intoxicating in more ways than one. I could blame it solely on the Cuban Women 🙂 but my being shy won’t let me make it seem as if they are entirely the reason. I think its the allure of discovering a different part of myself. I have been around ma dukes side of my family since birth, but I’ve only spent about maybe a total of 1 month’s time with The Haitians. Who knows what I’d learn, if I were to give living in Florida a try. I’m really at the point where I’m considering nixing my plan of attending Howard for grad & law school, and just heading to The University of Miami or to Florida International University. I really think it would be a good plan, but my only concern is those damn hurricanes. It’s kind of hard for me to settle on the next step for my secondary educational career because I’m really torn between those two places (DC and Miami/Broward County). But I guess time will tell and the situation will pan out on its own.

Random Thought of The Moment: “I wonder how much a plane ticket will cost?”
The Song of the Moment: “Again” by Lenny Kravitz

This entry was posted in Family, Holidays, Life, The Haitians. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where I wanna be…

  1. The Breaking Point says:

    There are definitely worse places to be! LOL

    I’ve tried to get into Lenny Kravitz but there’s something about his music that strikes me as bieing … canned?

Leave a Reply

