Thanks for the $600 President Jackass…

Here’s a more recent link : Click Here

I just came from reading The Insanity Report, and a comment I posted on the link above inspired me to write this post. For those of you that don’t know whats going on, President Bush along with the members of Congress have decided to give $600 rebate checks back to American Citizens in hopes to stimulate the economy. Under the proposal, people who make up to $75,000 annually will receive the $600 Rebate. Couples that file their taxes jointly and who also make less than $150,000 annually will recieve a $1200 rebate. In addition to that, if you have children, you will receive an addition $300 per child. Does the government actually think that this will help to stimulate the economy?

I already have the feeling that this rebate will go to help lower income families with a plethora of children, and there is nothing wrong with that. However, I personally think that this is a smoke screen. For almost 8 years now, The Bush Administration has been taking our tax dollars to fund “The War on Terror” and so that he could go find those damn “Weapons of Mass Destruction” while the following things have happened here at home:

The City of New Orleans is still recovering from Hurricane Katrina at a snails pace….Let’s see, this August will make the 3 YEAR ANNIVERSARY of the hurricane, and what has the government done to help bring the city back to its former glory? *Side Note: Maybe it’s just me, but I personally feel as if New Orleans should be the sole American Candidate for the next available Summer Olympics. That would help the entire Gulf Coast Region to rebound. But hey, that’s just my opinion.*

Our economy is dropping toward a recession faster than Superhead at a Rapper’s Convention. Instead of spending billions abroad, why not use that money here to help stimulate and reinforce the economy?

Gas and Food Prices are steadily rising (although we have it cheap compared to the UK where petrol (gasoline) is at least 6 pounds [Is that right LH?] per gallon.)

I’m assuming that this is the beginning of payback for Bush taking all of our money in the first place, but as Kriss mentioned on The Insanity Report, WHAT THE HELL CAN I DO WITH $600? For us college students, it could help pay for summer classes, tuition, fees, books, spring break, etc.

But for those who are homeowners who have to pay utilities and bills (which tend to rise bi-monthly) the $600 seems more like a slap in the face, then a rebate. I don’t know about you all, but this Income Tax season, I’m gonna go open a Money Market Account with that $600. What’s your opinion on this?

Random Thought of the Moment: “Almost time to head to class…”
The Song of the Moment: “No One” by Alicia Keys.

This entry was posted in Politics, Society, The Economy. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thanks for the $600 President Jackass…

  1. LH says:

    Petrol has been obnoxiously high throughout Europe ever since I can recall, yes. Americans don’t know how good they had it.

    I think the $600 is a step in the right direction but ultimately, a stop-gap measure that won’t save the economy from contracting.

  2. pserendipity says:

    Nah, it won’t stop the economy, but it’ll shole trick out some folks living rooms. For me, I’ll take my $600 + $300 for my child and pay off a credit card…ah, the thrill of being grown with bills….

  3. pserendipity says:

    BTW, brran, you have officially been added to the blogroll. Congrats! (I know, you’re real excited…. ;-))

  4. CreoleInDC says:

    Unfortunately what LH says is true but don’t tell him I agreed with ANYTHING he says. The last time I was in London was in 2004 and gas was over $6. Ugh.

    I don’t get a check. I just might be annoyed but that but really haven’t focused on it yet. Hmmmmmm.

  5. brran1 says:

    Lol. I’m not gonna tell him, he’s gonna read the comments…

  6. Angry Citizen says:

    What a great idea. Borrow $600 from my granddaughter so everyone can buy some fucking Chinese crap at WalMart. Yea, that should help stimulate the economy, just not ours.

    It’s time to start lining up every rich politician and start the executions. I mean both democrats and republicans. Every mother fucker who thought this was a good idea needs to take a long dirt nap.

  7. pserendipity says:

    So, Angry…How do you REALLY feel?

Leave a Reply

