O.S.A.G. Day 33: A Mini Issue

The first month of O.S.A.G. is over. Everything has gone rather smoothly the past month, but I have a confession to make. During the week I’ve found that I’ve started to fall back into some of my old habits. Granted, this has only happened this past week, but I feel like I’d better document this so I know where I deviated.

Since school started, I’ve been paying less attention to what I eat. Now, I’m not saying that I’m going to an all you can eat buffet and loading up on 6 plates of food or whatever, but I have begun to fall into my old “school time eating” routine. What is that may you ask? Well if you’d give me a second, I’d be more than willing to oblige your request.

 My first class of the day is at 11am. On an average morning, I’m out of the bed between 9:00-9:30am. When I have the juice, I usually get everything together the night before so I can just lollygag (is that a real word?) around the house in the morning without any sense of urgency.

Most mornings, I try to grab a bowl of cereal while reading The NY Times online. After that, I take a shower, get dressed and head out into the world. With me being on campus from 11am-4pm, I usually refrain from eating anything for several reasons. One, the food on campus is fricking expensive. Why would I want to eat on campus when I can eat at home for free? Two, the food spots around campus aren’t that much better for those of us trying to watch/ lose weight. In the shopping center adjacent to campus, there is cheap Grocery Store, A McDonalds, A Domino’s Pizza and A Sub (Hoagie) Shop.

Knowing that I park my car in the nether regions of North campus, I am never tempted to walk all the way to the other end of South Campus to go cop a Steak, Egg and Cheese Bagel (which I am actually craving at the moment.)

But here where the problem arises. By the time I get home (after beating cross town traffic) around 5:30-5:45 pm, I could easily dust off the contents of my refridgerator *joking*. 

Outside of looking like an oversized 4th grader carrying a lunch bag to school, what other options do I have?

Random Thought of the Moment: “Integration by Parts…”

The Song of the Moment: “City of Lights” by U2

This entry was posted in Health, Operation-Shrink-A-Gut. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to O.S.A.G. Day 33: A Mini Issue

  1. Tiffany In Houston says:

    This is what you do since you are a commuter student and you drive yourself. Get a little cooler and some ice packs. Keep it in the trunk. Pack it with some water or my favorite Arizona Lemon Ice Tea, some baby carrots or grapes in plastic baggies. Maybe a NutriGrain bar or something like that that you can jump out of your whip, stick it in the pocket of your backpack and keep it moving. What you are trying to do is curb that raging hunger before you get home and demolish your fridge. I have a 23 year old brother so I KNOW what kind of damage you can do…LOL!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

