What Are The 15 Best Jay-Z Songs Ever?

2046005001_572d9d9813.jpg
No matter what mood I’m in, I can always find a Jay-Z song to relate in some form or fashion. This man is definitely one of the great storytellers of our generation. He has the ability to transport you from where you are, to which ever locale he is rapping about.

Here are my Top 15 Jay-Z Songs (In no specific order. If that were the case, i’d be sitting here for 4 hours trying to decide which song goes where.):

1.) American Dreamin’

2.) I Know

3.) 30 Something

4.) Lost Ones

5.) Public Service Announcement (Interlude)

6.) December 4th

7.) Hovi Baby

8.) Guns & Roses

9.) The Ruler’s Back

10.) The Takeover

11.) Dead Presidents 2

12.) Feelin It

13.) Can I Live

14.) Show Me What You Got

15.) U Don’t Know

16.) Party Life

What’s your Top 10 or 15 list lookin like?

Side Note: I originally was gonna do a top 10, but I had to include 15 because I couldn’t just settle on 10 songs.

Random Thought of the Moment: “One Million, Two Million, Three Million, Four/ In 18 Months, 40 Million More…”

The Song of the Moment: “U Don’t Know” by Jay-Z

*Update on 4/9/08: I’ve noticed that this post has been getting mad hits the past few weeks. For all of you Jay-Z fans out there, What’s your favorite Jay-Z song and why?*

This entry was posted in Favorite Songs of All Time, iPod, Music, What Do You Think? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to What Are The 15 Best Jay-Z Songs Ever?

  1. tanyetta says:

    what about that one song when he’s talking about Girls, Girls and he’s walking through the room and there are tons of girls of different backgrounds? sorry i’m bad with song titles 🙂

  2. Just like you, these are in no particular order:
    1)Ignorant Shit
    2)Feelin’ It
    3)American Dreamin’
    4)N!gga What N!gga Who
    5)I Know
    6)U Don’t Know
    7)Hard Knock Life
    8)Who You Wit II
    9)Show Me What You Got
    10)Do It Again
    11)Can’t Knock The Hustle
    12)Takeover
    13)Encore
    14)30 Something
    15)No Hook

  3. Tiffany In Houston says:

    OMG OMG!!! Where do I begin!

    In no particular order

    1) What More Can I Say??
    2) Can I Get A…
    3) Big Pimping (RIP Pimp C!!!!)
    4) Takeover
    5) Encore (the version with Linkin Park)
    6) Ain’t No Nigga
    6) Snoopy Track (featuring Juvenile, this shoulda been a single; oh my goodness this goes hard in the paint, from Vol. 3)
    7) Money Cash Hoes
    8) Renegade (Em killed his verse, basically he upstaged Jay on his own track)
    9) If I Should Die (from Vol. 2, this song is brilliant)
    10) Who Ya Wit
    11) Girl’s Best Friend (bonus track from Blue Streak Movie, on Vol. 3)
    12) It’s Alright (feat Memphis Bleek, from Vol. 2)
    13) Heart of the City (Ain’t No Love)
    14) Excuse Me Miss
    15) Dirt Off Your Shoulder

    Honorable mention: all the radio/pop hits plus his verse off Missy Elliott’s “One Minute Man”.

    Can you tell I LOVE Jay-Z?

  4. Sheliza says:

    I could not narrow down 10 or 15 songs because I LOVE Jay-Z!!

  5. Tyler says:

    Coming Of Age!!!!!

    Jay and Bleek Kill the whole thing!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. fanofrap says:

    Nice Thread one of the greatest MC’s ever (along with Eminem, Tupac, Biggie, Nas, Rakim, and Andre 3000)

    No particular order b/c that would be too hard, so I split them up by album:

    Reasonable Doubt:
    1) D’Evils
    2) Friend Or Foe
    3) Can’t Knock the Hustle
    4) 22 Two’s

    Vol. 1:
    1) You Must Love Me

    Vol. 2:
    1) Can I Get A…
    2) Hard Knock Life

    Vol. 3:
    1) Big Pimpin’

    The BluePrint:
    1) The TakeOver
    2) Song Cry
    3) Lyrical Exercise (Breathe Easy)
    4) Renegade
    5) Hola Hovito

    The Black Album:
    1) 99 Problems

    Miscellanious Albums:
    1) Anything

    some honorable mention songs are Dead Presidents II, Friend or Foe ’98, and Can I Live

  7. Bahama says:

    I know this is kind of late..But how could no one mention Meet the Parents? Yall are sleeping on that track.
    In no order

    ~Meet the Parents

    ~Allure

    ~Renegade

    ~Say Hello

    ~Ignorant Sh!t

    ~Brooklyn’s Finest

    ~Understand

    ~American Dreaming

    ~No Hook

    ~Moment of Clarity

    ~Song Cry

    ~Takeover

    ~This Can’t be Life

    ~Guns and Roses

    ~Justify my Thug

  8. EL Johnson says:

    This is a good one, in no particular order:

    1. Party Life
    2. Cant Knock the hustle
    3. Feelin It
    4. Meet The Parents
    5. Song Cry
    6. What more Can I say
    7. Sweet
    8. La La La (excuse me again)
    9. Excuse me Miss
    10. Change Clothes (he changed how we dressed)
    11. Say Hello (to the bad guy)
    12. Heart Of The City
    13. All I Need
    14. American Dreamin
    15. Show me what you got

  9. Dani says:

    No Particular Order

    1. American Dreamin
    2. Song Cry
    3. Can’t Knock The Hustle
    4. D’Evils
    5. Say Hello
    6. Renegade
    7. Excuse Me Miss
    8. Dead Presidents II
    9. Takeover
    10. Public Service Announcement
    11. Lost One
    12. 99 Problems
    13. Brooklyn’s Finest
    14. Moment of Clarity
    15. I Know

  10. tom says:

    1. jockin jay z

    2.30 something

    3.public service announcment

    4.coming of age

    5.coming of age 2

    6.lost ones

    7.oh my god

    8.u dont know

    9.takeover

    10. justify my thug

    11.99 problems

    12.hovi baby

    13.dead presidents 2

    14.song cry

    15.brooklyns finest

  11. SHowtime says:

    In no particular order:

    Can I Live
    Song Cry
    Can’t be life
    Dead Presidents 2
    99 Problems
    Public Service Announcement
    What more can I say
    U don’t know
    Renegade
    Heart of the City
    The Watcher
    Snoopy Track
    My 1st Song
    It’s Hot
    Lucifer

    His songs that are and were on heavy rotation on the radio were excluded because I get sick of them quick, not that they aren’t good though.

  12. JP562 says:

    IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER..

    DEAD PRESIDENTS (ORIGINAL VERSION)
    REGRETS
    COMING OF AGE
    IMAGINARY PLAYER
    LUCKY ME
    IN MY LIFETIME (REMIX)
    ONLY A CUSTOMER
    WHAT THE GAME MADE ME
    ALRIGHT
    S.CARTER
    WATCH ME
    THERE’S BEEN A MURDER
    GIRL’S BEST FRIEND
    FROM MARCY TO HOLLYWOOD
    WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN
    HOLA HOVITO
    U DON’T KNOW
    EXCUSE ME MISS
    FUCK ALL NITE
    I DID IT MY WAY
    SHOW YOU HOW
    A BALLAD FOR A FALLEN SOLDIER
    CHANGE CLOTHES
    ALLURE
    I MADE IT
    SAY HELLO

    SORRY 4 THE EXCESSIVE SONGS BUT THESE ARE ALL CLASSICS I JUST HAD 2 POST THEM

  13. Gold says:

    No order or even my top 15 bcuz I dont have a top 15 he has albums that’s classic it’s too many songs to name so here r just some hot songs

    Allure
    Dead Presidents (both version)
    Feelin it
    D’evils
    Meet the Parents
    Streets is Watching
    Regrets
    Lost Ones
    Ain’t no Love
    There’s Been a Murder (volume 3)
    Watch Me
    Where I’m From
    A Week Ago
    American Dreamin
    Trouble
    Blueprint(Momma Loves Me)
    Never Change
    Takeover
    etc.etc.etc…………

  14. Gold says:

    Do u c what I mean as soon as I submitted the list more popped n my head he has made entirely too many classic songs for a favorite list but here’s more songs

    What More Can I Say
    Encore
    Beach Chair
    Politics as Usual
    You Must Love M
    Song Cry
    U Don’t Know
    Show You How
    Can I Live
    In My Lifetime
    December 4th
    Friend or Foe
    You’re Only a Customer
    Gangster Shit (On a Clue Mixtape)
    Justify My Thug
    Lucifer

  15. CJ says:

    In no order

    1) It’s Hot (underrated track)
    2) Ride or Die
    3) There’s Been a Murder
    4) D’Evils
    5) A Week Ago
    6) Hard Knock Life
    7) Wishing on a Star (Original Version)
    8) Dope Man
    9) City is Mine
    10) All I Need
    11) Song Cry
    12) Never Change
    13) S.Carter
    14) Imaginary Player
    15) American Gangster

  16. Ian Milheim says:

    Jesus, surprised it was that hard to narrow it down to 15
    1. Lucky Me
    2. Meet the Parents
    3. In My Lifetime’
    4. Blueprint 2 (so memorable)
    5. Streets is Watching
    6. Ni*ga what, Nig*a who?
    7. PSA
    8. 22 Twos
    9. Regrets
    10. Dope Man
    11. No Hook
    12. American Dreamin’
    13. Money ain’t a thing(That chain reaction line…)
    14. Kingdom Come
    15. A Week Ago always hit pretty hard

  17. Cheyanne says:

    In No Particular Order:

    My 1st song
    Public service announcement
    Hard knock life
    Coming of age
    H to the izzo
    Lost ones
    30 something
    Hovi baby
    Encore
    What more can i say?
    Justify my thug
    Moment of clarity
    TakeOver
    Renegade
    Dirt of ya shoulder

  18. rick spliff says:

    some of you guys really dont know shit about shawn carter….anyone who has more than like 3 tracks off of kingdom come on their list is brain dead…and seriously “takeover” on your list???? sorry shit was lame…stop listening to beats and start listening to lyrics……

  19. Gold says:

    IT’S SEEMS OBVIOUS I M YOU R A HERB

  20. Gold says:

    IT’S SEEMS OBVIOUS 2 ME YOU R A HERB THAT KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT NOTHING

  21. brran1 says:

    @Gold and anyone else:

    Three things.

    1. If you wish to insult someone, you should know how to spell your words. I have a hard enough time laughing at your stupid ass when I read your comments. The least you could do is type your words as if you have basic typing skills and NOT LIK E THI S.

    Invest in ‘Mavis Beacon Teaches Typing’. You obviously need it.

    2. These are MY FAVORITE 15 Jay-Z songs. Not the definitive end-all-be-all list of his best tracks. As you know, my opinion differs greatly from yours, and I may have identified with tracks that you may not have.

    3. If you don’t agree with my list, cool. Fine. I have no problem with that. But was the name calling really necessary? No, It wasn’t. You need to chill with that dumb shit. Also, specify who you are commenting to please.

    If you insist on name calling and not displaying some minute degree of intelligence, I suggest you stay the hell off my site.

    Thank You.

  22. Pingback: No Time for the Dumb Shit. « The Black Lounge

  23. christopher says:

    can i live
    regrets
    beach chair
    d’evils
    coming of age
    dead presidents
    dead presidents II
    my 1st song
    never change
    song cry
    moment of clarity
    allure
    bring it on
    feelin it
    7 minute freestyle with big l

    -no order.
    Reasonable Doubt is the best album of all time.

  24. NickN says:

    – 99 problems
    – brooklyns finest
    – Hello brooklyn
    – What more can i say
    – Dirt off your shoulder
    – Hard knock life
    – Roc boys
    – Hola’ hovito
    – Can’t knock the hustle
    – Jockin jay-z
    – Brooklyn go hard
    – I know
    – Dead presidents 2

  25. Bx says:

    This is no order cause it to hard to pick
    -What More Can I Say
    -The Prelude
    -Dead President I & II
    -Never Change
    -Dope Man
    -Lyrical Exercise
    -Girls,Girls,Girls(remix)
    -Public Service Announcement
    -Allure
    -Heart Of the City
    -Hovi Baby
    -Song Cry
    -Say Hello
    -Maybach Music(one of the sickest verse in rap history)
    -Jay-Z FT. Beyonce(they song be tight as hell)

  26. ALexx says:

    you all are forgetting one of his best songs!

    Money aint a thing!!!!

  27. antimo massaro says:

    In no specific order.
    1 Can’t knock the hustle
    2 Dead Presidents 1+2
    3 Imaginary Player
    4 Friend or Foe
    5 Regrets
    6 Renegade
    7 Public service anoucment
    8 Devils
    9 Can I Live
    10 the takeover
    11 excuse me miss
    12 justify my thug

  28. Ne ne (LOL) says:

    Here is my top 15: No Order
    1. Heart Of The City—-> Blueprint
    2. Can I Live —-> Reasonable Doubt
    3. Dead Presidents II —–> Reasonable Doubt
    4. Coming Of Age–> Reasonable Doubt
    5. Encore—–> Black Album
    6. Meet The Parents—-> Blueprint II
    7. D’evils—-> Reasonable Doubt
    8. American Dreamin—–> Amercian Gangster
    9. PSA—> Black Album
    10. Anything—> Beanie Siegal’s (The Truth)
    11. Blue Magic—-> American Gangster
    12. The Prelude—> Kingdom Come
    13. All I need—-> Blueprint II
    14. Regrets—> Reasonable Doubt
    15. Lost Ones—-> Kingdom Come

  29. JOHN says:

    NO ORDER

    1.No Hook

  30. Aaron says:

    No paticular order:

    1.No Hook
    2.Roc Boys (And the Winner is)
    3.Izzo (H.O.V.A.)
    4.Snoopy Track
    5.Renegade
    6.Dirt Off Your Shoulder
    7.Encore – LP version
    8.Can’t Knock the Hustle
    9.Hard Knock Life
    10.Big Pimpin’
    11.The Watcher II
    12.You Must Love Me
    13.Lucifer
    14.22 Two’s
    15.Song Cry

  31. Joker says:

    How the F*ck do you make a top 15 list in “no specific order”????

  32. steve1 says:

    does anyone know the song where jay z raps over a blues backing track???

  33. ZombieKilla says:

    Say Hello
    Feelin’ It
    I Know
    Lost One
    Party Life
    Heart of the City
    Allure
    Never Change
    A Week Ago
    Imaginary Player
    Dead Presidents
    D’evils
    99 Problems
    Cant Knock the Hustle
    Can I Live

  34. nownu says:

    nucket jay-z nucket nucket jay-z???

    ??????????????

  35. Infinite Nate says:

    1 Renegade
    2 Empire State of Mind
    3 Roc Boys
    4 Hard Knock Life
    5 A Dream
    6 Encore
    7 Diamonds from Sierra Leone
    lol

  36. faboloso says:

    Jay roc tha greatest classics after classics…..
    Can I live
    Dead presidents 1 nd 2
    D evils
    Where I’m from
    Dynasty intro
    In my lifetime
    Streets is watching
    Takeover
    U don’t kno
    Regrets
    Cashmere thoughts
    Feeling it
    Politics as usual
    No hook
    Fallin
    And a lot more…. I can give u 30 more classic tracks not including tha radio hits

  37. robba says:

    you must love me is one of his best

  38. beto says:

    not in order haha

    .best rapper alive(ft. em
    .99 problems
    .dirt of your shoulder
    .renegade
    .DOA
    big pimpin
    .run this town
    .numb encore
    .lost one
    .la la la
    .roc boys
    .empire state of mind
    .off that
    .on to the next one
    .a star is born
    .young forever
    .swagga like us

  39. Unforqetable says:

    In no order

    -Encore
    -Meet The Parents
    -Soon You’ll Understand
    -December 4th
    -Song Cry
    -Can’t Knock the Hustle
    -Brooklyn’s Finest
    -So Ghetto
    -Some How Some Way
    -Lost One
    -Nigga What Nigga Who
    -99 Problems
    -Blue Magic
    -What More Can I Say
    -Streets (along with R.kelly)

  40. mattyg says:

    In order
    1. D’evils

    2. Takeover

    3. Aint no Nigga

    4. Lost one

    5. Izzo (H.O.V.A.)

    7. Public Service Announcement

    8. What More Can I Say

    9. Regrets

    10. Show Me What You Got

    11. D.O.A.

    12. 99 Problems

    13. Thank You

    14. Heart of the City

    15. Brooklyn’s Finest

    honourable mention: dirt off your shoulder, hovi baby, venus vs mars, blue magic, young forever, can i live

  41. hova4life says:

    It’s sad that only 2 people mentioned Where I’m From, because in my opinion, that is his best song.

  42. OMLP says:

    1. Can I Live
    2. Bring It On
    3. Never Change
    4. IZZO
    5. Lost Ones
    6. Dead Presidents II
    7. It’s Like That
    8. Hard Knock Life
    9. Aint No Love
    10. Cant Knock The Hustle
    11. Moment of Clarity
    12. D’evils
    13. Song Cry
    14. Hola Hovito
    15. Big Pimpin

  43. Byl says:

    aint no love, dead prez, no hook, what mor can i say, cant knock d hustle…

  44. smiley says:

    1. can i live
    2. dear summer
    3. there’s been a murder
    4. where i’m from
    5. lyrical exercise
    6. renegade
    7. public service announcement
    8. say hello
    9. no hook
    10. d.o.a
    11. dope man
    12. soon you’ll understand
    13. dynasty intro
    14. dead presidents 2
    15. feeling it

  45. smoother says:

    yooooo….so no one’s gonna even mention one of the illest tracks jay-z EVER did: IN MY LIFETIME??????

  46. Brad says:

    I appreciate you putting “I Know” up there; that song is mad underrated

  47. Pingback: A list that actually matters: Jay-Z's Top 100 songs | Eye on Chi

Leave a Reply

