O.S.A.G. Days 66-69: Jill Scott, Cheesesteaks, & One Huge Ass Grocery Bill

I took a break from blog archive reading over at My Complex Simplicities (Shouts out to Charles) to post this week’s O.S.A.G. entry. But before I get to that, I wanna talk about a couple other things.

As I was reading Charles’s blog, I noticed that me and dude have alot in common as far as our views on people, relationships, music and other things.

The Jill Scott Concert was EXCELLENT! I had to go to my last two classes on Friday (2-4 pm). I ended up getting outta my Geology class around 4:20pm. I ran to the bank for gas and toll money, and I got home around 5 where Best Friend N was waiting for me. We jumped on The Beltway and traffic was at virtual crawl (Don’t you just love Rush Hour?). To add insult to injury, it was raining cats and dogs so everyone and their mama was driving 12 mph. It took us 2 and a half hours to get to Philly (Usual Driving Time:1 Hour 10-30 Minutes). We stopped past Best Friend N’s aunt’s house off of Lehigh so we could see her fam really quick. She changed her clothes and we headed for The Liacouras Center. By the time we got into the arena, it was 9pm. We missed Raheem DeVaughn’s performance, and we caught the last two songs from Musiq. I’ll definitely make a point to see him live again because the music was on point!

As Best Friend N and I were grooving to the music, I got a headache right above my eyes. I knew exactly why I got that headache. It was because I hadn’t eaten in exactly 24 hours. (I know, I know, not to say eating slipped my mind, but I was so concerned with getting to class on time and making it to the show, that eating took a backburner). During the intermission, Best friend N ran out into the concourse to call home to check on my godson, and while she was out there, she stopped at the concession stand and grabbed some quick food. We ate up and conversed before the set started.

When the lights came on, man…Jill was in the building and looking more beautiful than ever. She started off with some uptempo music and had the majority of the people in the arena on their feet grooving to the music. As the set progressed, she eased into her slower jams which had everyone in their chairs just enjoying the tunes. She let everyone know that Jilly from Philly was home and enjoying every moment of her performance. She claimed she was hoarse but I couldn’t tell because she hit every note perfectly. I personally think that Jill Scott’s music sounds even better live compared to her CD’s.

She let everyone know about her new HBO Series that she has coming up, and she kept on with the music. The show got better and better and better as time went on. She is one of the few celebrities that does not seem as if she let fame get to her. She kept it real from curtain up, to encore, to stage exit.

After the concert, we headed up Broad St. to our favorite Cheesesteak spot, Max’s (Corner of Erie & Germantown Avenues). We got our cheesesteaks and headed for Baltimore.

I got home around 2:50 am and immediately DEMOLISHED the entire cheesesteak. ๐Ÿ™‚ Man that was good. I took a couple of pics (hence the post a few nights back) and I went to bed. I can’t honestly remember the last time I was off on a Saturday, so all I did was lounge around the house watching movies all day. It was definitely a well deserved day off.

I noticed that I didn’t have any food to take to work with me, so I headed out to my local Shoppers (My second favorite supermarket chain, after Publix) to buy some food. I called myself going in to get a few things for myself to have for work and for during the week (such as frozen fruit, grapes, yogurt, bottled water, Salad, grilled chicken, cereal, baby carrots (Thanks TIH), granola bars, etc.). After everything was said and done, guess how much I spent…. Almost $150. No lie.

When I got home, I told everyone that I will slowly dismember them if they touch my food. ๐Ÿ™‚ (Don’t you just love family?) LOL.

Now I don’t have an excuse to not eat healthier during the week. Let’s see how this goes…

Random Thought of the Moment: “Does anyone know of any other good Cheesesteak spots up in Philly besides Pat’s or Geno’s?”

The Song of the Moment: “Makeyouhappy” by Musiq Soulchild

This entry was posted in Favorite Songs of All Time, Health, Music, Operation-Shrink-A-Gut, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to O.S.A.G. Days 66-69: Jill Scott, Cheesesteaks, & One Huge Ass Grocery Bill

  1. Tiffany In Houston says:

    You are so welcome, babe. I just stocked up on some yesterday. Baby carrots and caesar dressing is the business!!

  2. Teejay says:

    Did you happen to watch Raheem Devaughn at the Jill Scott concert? Check out some of his live shows from his The Dream is Real TV player on his myspace;hosted by kyte.tv! http://www.myspace.com/raheemdevaughn!

  3. Babs says:

    Wait. You bought the cheesesteak and waited over two hours to eat it????

    Yes. That’s all I got from this post. LOL!

Leave a Reply

