To Work or Not To Work, That Is The Question…

For those that don’t know, I’ve been applying for mad internships for this upcoming summer vacation. As cool as sitting home on my ass not doing crap for 3 months sounds, I’d much rather be off working somewhere making extra money so that I could help out with some bills around the house. Boredom consumed me over Winter Break when I sat home, and I don’t even wanna think of what I could get into being at home for 3 months straight…

To date, I have applied for the following Internships:


Georgia Department of Transportation

Philadelpha Water Department

Gilbane

8 or 9 different MD State Highway Adminstration positions

2 or 3 different City of Baltimore positions

And before week’s end, I intend on applying for these:

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT)

Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT)

Florida Department of Transportation

Broward County Government (if I can find out where their jobs are posted)

Miami-Dade County County Government (if I can find out where their jobs are posted)

The jobs are all centered in Civil Engineering ranging in subtopics from working with water systems and soils, to bridge and highway design, to hydraulics. I’m really excited about this because I think having hands on experience will stick with me longer vs. just reading stuff out of a textbook.

I don’t know why, but I have a feeling that I will get either The GDOT, Philadelphia Water Dept., City or SHA internships.

I really would be interested in going to Georgia because we’d be staying in the dorms at Georgia Tech for 10 Weeks and I think it would be very interesting. However, with the jobs in GA and FL, I am certain that I may have to quit my job at the hospital (which I do not want to do) to take those internships.

The job in Philly would require me to travel an hour & a half-2 hours both ways everyday. I believe the job starts at 7am, so I’d have to be out of the house every morning at 4:30 am just to make it to work on time.

If I get a local job (VDOT, PennDOT, City of Phila., City of Balt., SHA) I will keep my weekend job and just work the internship during the week. I’m gonna be one burned out brother come the end of the 10 weeks, but what doesn’t kill me gives me work experience…LOL

At the end of the 10 weeks, ya boy is going to Miami to see the The Haitians for 2 weeks. I’m definitely gonna need a vacation…lol

Random Thought of the Moment: “Keep me in your prayers everyone…”

The Song of the Moment: “Shoot Down The Stars” by Gym Class Heroes

This entry was posted in Anxiety, College, Family, Life, People, The Haitians, Waiting..., Work and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Work or Not To Work, That Is The Question…

  1. Brittany says:

    At least you have a lot of internships to go for in case one or the other doesn’t work out.

  2. Tiffany In Houston says:

    Have you tried Inroads?? There’s a branch in every major city…

Leave a Reply

