A Method To My Madness

At Morgan, Midterm week is upon us. I’ve only actually had one. Rather, I have one. It’s today at 3pm. Have I studied for it? Nope. I had every intention to. I blame it on my short ass attention span.

For those of you that haven’t already caught on, I work at a hospital. Every weekend, 7am-730p. I don’t wanna say what my exact job is, but it does entail sitting behind a desk for most of the day doing various things. At certain times, it’ll be quiet to the point where you could hear a pin drop. And other times, there will be 3 people coming in the office needing something while 8 different phone lines ring because 5 of them couldn’t get the supervisor on his/her Spectralink. All while the fax machine is churning out faxes. I can honestly say that I handle business when i’m under pressure and everything usually gets done. But see here’s my thing. When it’s slow in the office, and I actually have time to get some reading in, I don’t. I find other ways to occupy my time. LOL which mainly is the internet (Very limited access nonetheless, but still access).

I start off every semester with saying the exact same thing mentally. “You’re gonna do better this semester B.” “You’re gonna buckle down and handle business.”

And I usually do. But by the time midterms come around, I’m usually in the rut I’m in now. Not doing anything at all. Just the bare minimum. For my 2nd Speech in my speech class, the professor gave us 2-3 weeks to work on everything. Guess when I started? The day before it was due. That was the day after Best Friend Q’s birthday shindig. I drove across town at 4 pm on a Sunday afternoon, set up shop in The Engineering Building’s Comp Lab and I worked until Midnight when they kicked everyone out for the night. (I’m not even gonna front. I was doing more web surfing than working.)
*Side Note: I GOT A 97 on that SPEECH! 🙂

I want to be able to be focused enough to study and to get things done ASAP versus waiting til the last minute. But I can’t. I really don’t know why I can’t. I know I’m capable of pulling in A’s in everything, but I just haven’t been able to because I can’t concentrate or force myself to sit still long enough to pull off some studying.

But I guess every cloud has a silver lining right? One thing that kind of sorta cancels this out is the fact that I catch onto things rather fast. The only thing I have to spend a good amount of time on to fully comprehend is Calculus. Everything else comes to me after reading it 3 or 4 times.

I think that when it comes to school and life and general, my two biggest vices are procrastination and the fact that I have a short attention span. I have been dealing with these two issues since I was a kid. Even tonight, while typing this blog, I stopped, browsed MySpace for 20 minutes and then came back to typing.

I really need some advice…How do you combat procrastination and having a Short Attention Span?

Random Thought of the Moment: “I guess I’ll try to get some studying in during my free hour tomorrow…”

The Song of the Moment: “Do I” by Alice Smith

This entry was posted in Advice, College, Grades, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Method To My Madness

  1. a.tiara says:

    lol i wish I could help you. i do the very same thing LOL. The internet is addicting(well anything that isnt school work distracts me lol). Even though I should take my own advice, maybe you should turn off everything(ie, computer, television) when you are studying. And make up a schedule like 7:00(myspace) 8-10(calc homework)..something like that lol

Leave a Reply

