O.S.A.G. Days 70-82: Sticker Shock is A Bitch…

I never realized how much food actually costs until I actually had to go out and buy it. Is it just me or does it seem like the price of food is increasing weekly?

Anywho, learning how to shop is actually pretty interesting. The first time I went to the market for myself, I went ‘Brand-Name Crazy’ and ended up wondering why the bill was so damn high. Now, I actually read the prices and deduce which product would ultimately be the better buy. I believe that Shopper’s has the best deals when it comes to food, but I could be wrong seeing as how I really haven’t been going to any other supermarket chain. (Except for Publix of course but I believe the closest one to me is somewhere in Georgia.)

Yesterday, I picked up more granola bars, some crystal light, my yogurt, fruit cups, frozen fruit and some more stuff. I of course had to stop past the frozen food section to pick up my empanadas :). After waiting in line for what seemed to be 3 decades, my total came up to about $75, which was half of what I paid on my last trip to the store. As soon as I walked in the store, I started keeping a mental tab of how much things were, and strangely enough, I was able to stick to it.

As far as actual food consumption goes, I can honestly say that I’ve been doing pretty well. I rarely eat junk food now (I said it before and I’ll say it again. You’re not gonna get me to stop eating those Kettle Cooked Mesquite BBQ Chips. There’s no way in hell that’s ever gonna happen…), and I substituted Crystal Light for Kool-Aid & Soda.

Last night, Best Friends A & Q and Homie J went to our favorite restaurant (Uno’s) which we actually haven’t been to since November (I think). I ordered my usual (Buffalo Bleu Salad & Mango Iced Tea) and enjoyed watching A & Q get tipsy off of their drinks. We definitely need to start going out again on a regular basis because I haven’t laughed the way I did last night in a few months.

As of right now, I’m checking out WHFoods.com, and I’m thinking about starting that ‘Feeling Great’ Menu they have. The things on there don’t seem to be labor intensive, and it seems easy enough that a non-cooker like myself could follow it.

Random Thought of the Moment: “Hey Monnie, thanks for telling me about WHFoods.com. :)”

The Song of the Moment: “Rock Wit U” by Janet Jackson

This entry was posted in Health, Operation-Shrink-A-Gut and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to O.S.A.G. Days 70-82: Sticker Shock is A Bitch…

  1. Tabu says:

    I find all necessities are increasing more and more each day.

  2. dang is all i can say

  3. MissB says:

    I definitely feel you…I’ve been doing the fresh fruits and veggies thing and I seem to spend sooo much more. The things we do to be healthy…geez!! lol

    I have to check out that website…thanks for the link!!

    Nice blog!!

  4. *Coop* says:

    Our money is deflating by the minute it seems. Maybe next month, we’ll be bartering services for groceries! LOL
    It might be a pain, but coupons and checking sale papers help w/ the grocery budget. I was able to survive in $20 a week for 4 months…no joke. Farmers Market every week. I don’t eat meat though. 😦

  5. Tiffany In Houston says:

    You need to leave those fruit cups ALONE. All that high fructose corn syrup will sabotage operation shrank a gut!!!

  6. wanderers says:

    Awesome article.

Leave a Reply

