What If?

What if the draft were reenacted tomorrow?

I remember it like it was yesterday. I was in ROTC class back in HS, and the Commander reminded all the guys in the class that we had to register with the Selective Service on or before our eighteenth birthdays. Looking back on the situation, the only thing that registered with me was the fact that if we did not register with the Selective Service, we would not be able to take out loans for college. I believe I registered a few weeks after my seventeenth birthday mainly to get it out of the way so that I could concentrate on more pressing matters such as lunch period and going home after school to take my midday nap. Yup, the joys of high school…

I’m sitting here in the office at work, thinking about current events and something just popped into my head. What if the Draft was reenacted? With this war starting to seem as if it will NEVER end, what if something major were to pop off to the point where congress had no choice but to reenact the draft? Would it be too late to complain/boycott/demonstrate then? Reading articles about the Draft and the Selective Service Act, I was shocked to see that some of the ways my male teachers avoided the draft were amended if not down right abolished as excuses to avoid going to war.

Last child to carry the family name = Your ass is going to war.

You’re a college student = If you’re a senior, then you can graduate before going off to war. Other than that, your ass is going to war at the end of the semester.

Only male in your immediate family = Your ass is going to war.

Someone in your family is a high ranking politician and/or extremely wealthy = Your family is shipping you off to the south of France until the conflict is over. You can use your family name to get placed into a branch of the Armed Forces that rarely sends their troops to war.

There’s even a new half ass draft for health care workers which is entitled the Health Care Personnel Delivery System. This form of the draft includes those people (men AND WOMEN) ages 20-54 that happen to be health care workers. The DoD (Dept. of Defense) said this would be the most likely form of a draft if one were to occur. Makes you think twice about jumping into this profession in our lagging economy huh?

As we all know, some people take the pro-Draft stance. I personally hover somewhere between indifference and straight out opposition. I am opposed to the draft especially when the situation could have been avoided by the U.S. from jump. It’s kinda sorta like the government digging us into a hole, and then when they find that they’ve dug too deep, they make more people dig deeper (if that makes any sense).

I personally don’t think that much will happen between now and the time I turn 26, but then again you never know. I have an 11 year old nephew and little cousins that are just starting to enter their teen years, and I can honestly say that I am partially not looking forward to their eighteenth birthdays.

How do you feel about conscription?

Random Thought of the Moment: “I fly like paper, get high like planes/If you catch me at the border I got visas in my name…”

The Song of the Moment: “Paper Planes” by M.I.A.

This entry was posted in Family, Life, People, Society, What Do You Think? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What If?

  1. Mrs.Epps says:

    Last child to carry the family name = Your ass is going to war.

    You’re a college student = If you’re a senior, then you can graduate before going off to war. Other than that, your ass is going to war at the end of the semester.

    Only male in your immediate family = Your ass is going to war.

    Someone in your family is a high ranking politician and/or extremely wealthy = Your family is shipping you off to the south of France until the conflict is over. You can use your family name to get placed into a branch of the Armed Forces that rarely sends their troops to war.

    That’s fucked up shit…hmmm well if they do reeacted the draft Im gonna tell my soon to be hubby to knock me up cuz ma ass aint going to Iraq and neither will he cuz i would just push his ass down the stairs and make him break his leg or something hahahahha thats fucked huh?

  2. a.tiara says:

    yea I hate the draft! There are too many males in my life I care about to even imagine them fighting in some war because of Bush’s dumass. I think its necessary sometimes but people drafted are so inexperience and arent in the right mindframe to handle things associated with war.

    It makes me angry that men have to sign up for the selective service. Makes me sad too:-(

  3. thought u were talkning about upcoming nfl draft this wekend – just joking. I dont know, m son wouldnt go, he is my only male son so im thankful

  4. brran1 says:

    @ RDB: How is the draft looking so far? I really haven’t been paying much attention to it. And actually, there is a chance that your son would go. Check out this link.
    http://www.sss.gov/FSsurviv.htm

Leave a Reply

