Home from NY

So, it’s *checking clock* 7:23 AM, and ya boy is just getting back home from NY/Connecticut. The trip was ok (besides the fact that it rained the whole time) and we actually made good time coming back home. Here are some things that I’ve noticed within the past 24 hours:

Tractor Trailers should NEVER ride on the far inside lane of the Cross Bronx Expressway. One wrong move, and you’ve taken out 6 lanes of traffic on both sides of the highway.

Is it just me, or does it seem like they raise the tolls everytime I go to NY? The last time I went over the Goethals, the toll was $4.50. Yesterday, it was $8. No lie.

Gas in BK was at $3.99 a gallon for regular. Gas in Bridgeport, Connecticut was $4.09 a gallon for regular and $4.65 for diesel. SMDH

I HATE RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC! It took us almost two hours to go from the Verrazano Bridge to Rockaway Parkway. And then after that, It took us almost 2.5 hours to get from Canarsie, Brooklyn to Bridgeport, CT.

Our usual M.O. when we get to NY is: Check in with fam, laugh for 30 seconds, Head to White Castle on Granville Payne. Yesterday, we didn’t even make it to White Castle.

I hate driving on the highway at night. I was doing pretty good from the time we left Bridgeport until around exit 7 of the Jersey Turnpike. At that point, my vision was getting blurry. We stopped at a rest stop and I snoozed for 2 hours. That’s why it took us so long to get back. (We left Bpt exactly at 11 PM).

*Side Note: The fatigue snuck up on me this trip. Usually when I’m tired and driving, I see rabbits hopping across the road and I actually do swerve while trying to dodge them.*

For those of you that are unaware, today is the second leg of the Triple Crown Series of Horse Racing, better known as the Preakness Stakes. Not to give away my exact location, but let’s just say I live within a hop, skip, and a jump away from Pimlico Race Course. This is the one day a year where I have to contend with drunk people (more so in the evening) coming at me from what seems to be all directions. It was hard enough to find parking, b/c the city has made virtually every street in my neighborhood either a One-Way heading away from the Race Course in addition to having No Parking, or Just plain ole No Parking period.

I do know one thing though. Living in my neighborhood on Preakness Day leaves you with two options. You can:

1. Leave home for the day and return later tonight (maybe around 11) to avoid the crowds.

2. Prepare to stay home all day. As I mentioned earlier, parking spots are scarce. Once you move your car, you’ll probably have to park way out in Roland Park or Pikesville, just to have access to your house.LOL

Random Thought of the Moment: “I’m suprised i’m not asleep yet.”

The Song of the Moment: “In The Morning” by Ledisi

This entry was posted in Current Events, Life, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home from NY

  1. dennisjansen says:

    Haha the parking in your area is like the parking by my dorm. There is a stadium right next door with no parking…so they park in our lot.

    For example, right now there’s a graduation for some random high school…

    …and of course, no parking for little old me.

  2. zoso says:

    I have the same parking problem on game day and I live 8 blocks from campus. Geesh. Drunken turds.

Leave a Reply

