Thoughts About Brooklyn

Whenever I go to New York, I always find something new to get into. You’d think that with my going there so many times, we’d run out of things to do. That never is the case.

This past weekend, rather Monday afternoon, I found myself driving on Flatbush Ave., headed towards downtown during rush hour with no particular destination in mind. Even though I’ve made this drive before, the street still captures my attention. It’s a basic case of sensory overload, which is something I NEVER experience in Baltimore. Girls walking down the street looking fly as hell. The Fruit market up by Cortelyou, Dr. Jays and Dr. Jays, Ladies across the street, White Castle on Nostrand (I think), the banners of all the businesses, The street sign that says ‘Beverly Rd.’ while the other street sign says ‘Beverley Rd.’ Cars speeding, Idiots double parking on a busy ass street, those big ass buses hogging up the whole lane…You gotta love it.

Even though I’ve been to all five boroughs, Brooklyn has always stuck out to me I honestly don’t know why this is the case. I feel 100% at home and at ease when I’m in Brooklyn, and seeing as how I don’t really get the same feeling from Baltimore anymore, I wonder if safe to say that BK should be the place I should lay my head.

Maybe I’m just feeling as if it’s time to see what else is out there in the world. I know I can’t just up and move every time I start feeling a new way about a new place, but it never hurts to think about it. I definitely know, I’m far from relocating on whim like my mother used to do with us as we were coming up. I definitely need to have 30 billion things in order before I even consider it.

One day though, Brooklyn will be the place I call home. But for now, Baltimore will do.

Random Thought of the Moment: “Why the hell is my arm itching so much?”

The Song of the Moment: “Heaven” by MeShell Ndegeocello

This entry was posted in Life, Photo Blogging, Photography, Random Thoughts, Traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts About Brooklyn

  1. NY sounds like fun. I would love to visit one day but I can barely deal with the crazy ppl in downtown Atlanta I can’t imagine being in NY

    So I’ve missed like a good 4-5 posts from you so I’m going to go catch up 🙂

  2. a.tiara says:

    I have yet to visit any place in NY besides Manhattan. But I love NY as well! I feel like I need to leave Baltimore as well..maybe its the BS that keeps happening here *shrugs shoulders*

  3. you know i get that same feeling too. while i was at the Mister’s, i found myself looking out the window with this safe feeling. i wasn’t like i was in a strange place that i felt out of place in. i hope by this time next year, we’ll be making that move… if not sooner

Leave a Reply

