Fire Drill

Today, as I was working on my highway alignment, I heard what sounded like an announcement over the overhead speakers. Of course, since it was so faint, I assumed it was outside and went back to working on my highway alignment. About a minute later, other people started to hear it, and one guy went and opened the door to the stairwell. At this point, the message was LOUD and it said “There is an emergency in the building, Please evacuate and DO NOT use the elevators”. At this point, I gathered my iPod and calculator and headed for the stairs with the rest of the employees. It wouldn’t have been so bad if we weren’t 27 STORIES up. It took about 5 minutes for us to leave the building, and when I made it to the street I had to sit down because my legs were shaking.

I guess being in a highrise does have it’s advantages as well as it’s disadvantages.

This entry was posted in Confessions of A Traveling Intern and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fire Drill

  1. Psonya says:

    Glad you’re having fun in the ATL. Now please tell me how the calculator was gonna help you in a fire????

Leave a Reply

