Last Tuesday

(Sorry I’m late posting this Lauren & Coop!)

This past Tuesday, Lauren, Coop and I met up at Sugarhill for the Tuesday Night Jam. The event is one big jam session backed by a house band, and hosted by the ever so beautiful Joi (you know, Big Gipp’s baby mama/wife). In addition to this past Tuesday being the night for Tuesday Night Jam, it was also a BET Awards viewing party, an album listening party for Anthony David’s new release which is entitled ‘Acey Ducey’ (I hope I spelled that correctly…) and an album release party for Hidden Beach Recordings Presents: Unwrapped, Volume 5.0: The Collipark Cafe Sessions.

Needless to say, it was a busy night. We got there a little after 8, and the place was already crowded. It started off pretty slow with 102.5 (which is my favorite radio station) broadcasting live from the spot. It was a pretty chill event. Anthony David came out and performed a couple tracks, and then, some of the guys from Hidden Beach (which included Mike Phillips who KILLED it!) took to the stage, and performed some of the tracks off the CD for us. I’m definitely gonna have to go out and buy all 5 albums because the music was on point.

A little while later, they cut on the B.E.T. Awards. Coop, Lauren & I were chatting it up, laughing and just enjoying the atmosphere. I turned around to see what was happening on the BET Awards, and here’s what I noticed:

T-Pain looked like he finally escaped from Wonderland.

All that air humping Chris Brown was doing was COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY. When I say it caught me off guard, it truly did. However, I will say that Ciara could drop it down on me anytime she wishes (Yo Ciara, hit me up on e-mail for my phone number…). Note to Chris Brown: Lauren has an eye on you. You’d better watch yo back bruh. LOL

Everything was going well when the Al Green tribute came on. I was watching the screen when I saw this guy walk onto the stage. Since they showed it from a wide shot, you couldn’t really tell who it was, but with me being farsighted as all hell, I said “Hey y’all, that looks like Maxwell…”. And sure enough… As soon as it was clear that it was in fact Maxwell, every woman in the place started swooning and fanning themselves. I busted out laughing. Lauren and Coop immediately picked up their phones and started texting whoever and I shot an e-mail to Sixty just to give her a heads up (b/c she’s Maxwell’s Number 1 Fan), although I had a feeling that she was already watching it.

Around 11, the Jam Session started, and let me say, Joi came on stage and did this funky version of The Eurythmics’s ‘Sweet Dreams Are Made Of This’. Everything Joi performed was on point. I found myself getting down to the music and just enjoying myself.

During the intermission, Algebra walked in. I bought her album off of iTunes a few months back, but I listened to it for the first time while en route to Atlanta. With the album being as good as it was, I was shocked to see her there (Lauren pointed out that she’s at Sugarhill all the time). I was still shocked because back home in Baltimore, you don’t see too many celebrities out and about at various nightspots. I had my little 5 seconds of being starstruck and I was ready for her to jump on stage and perform. The DJ put on Afrika Bambaataa’s ‘Planet Rock’ and the whole place started dancing. We ended up having a lil breakdancing battle with the ladies at the table next to us. I had to let ’em know “I might be a big dude, but I can still get down.” LOL

Joi came back out (and performed Coop’s song ‘Lick’) and I was minding my own business, just vibin’ and enjoying the atmosphere when I heard Lauren and Coop talking about somebody. I was looking around trying to see who they were talking about, and I saw this:

(picture courtesy of Lauren and laurenisonlyhuman.wordpress.com)

What the Hell!?!?!?!? I shook my head and turned around, and Lauren and Coop just laughed. Looking at that was traumatizing to say the least.  Why the hell would you leave the house looking like that?

As the night went on, some amateurs came on stage and performed with the band. At this point, I was waiting to see Algebra. One after the other, after the other came on stage. The last straw for me was D’Maestro. Dude was trying to hit the same high notes that Joi had been hitting that entire night. Lauren said that he looked like a bigger version of Cee-Lo, to which I replied “You think he’d perform Closet Freak?” I will admit, dude can sing.

After he left the stage another amateur came on, and the three of us made our exit. I wanted to see Algebra perform, but at this point, it was almost 1:30 AM, and the 3 of us had to be at work in a few hours. I definitely had a ball, and I will be back before I leave. Hopefully Algebra will be back the next time. I had fun chillin with Lauren & Coop, and i’m pretty sure that we’ll do it again soon.

Random Thought of the Moment: “Lemme take my ass to bed before I end up dozing off while at work tomorrow.”

The Song of the Moment: “Lick” by Joi

This entry was posted in Humor, Music, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Last Tuesday

  1. Charles says:

    Okay….first and foremost…that pic is madd disturbing. Why did you have to post that…dude with the heels tho???

    Secondly, I couldn’t watch the BET awards mainly because my ignorance ban is still in full effect. I’ve heard stories, but I refuse to let my guard down and let it filter in. I might do one of those experiments to see how much BET I can watch before it turns unhealthy like Huey did on the Boondocks.

    I see you enjoying yourself in the ATL…thats whats up…

  2. I’m so mad at your note to Chris Brown! LMAO I’m sorry that was your first introduction to me outside the blogosphere…but then again I’m not!

    The ladies next to us were NOT ready for the battle!

    And yeah, it’s boots were definitely doing the “crackhead lean” LMAO…I still want his fab bag! LOL

  3. wish u had some audio
    have a great weekend

  4. a.tiara says:

    LOL wow at that pic!!!! LMAO what the hell lol. Im soo mad you were in the samwe vincinty as algebra. like u said celebs dont come to baltimore at night spots but fantasia and mario are supposed to be here today for afram! Im glad you are starting to have fun:-)

  5. *Coop* says:

    Does knowing that he’s a hairdresser make that outfit OK?

    And I still feel like I’m too young to see what I saw CB and Ciara doing? Blech!

  6. BK says:

    Oh My @ that pic.. lol

    Algebra is LIVE when she is on stage.. sounds just like the cd.. she should be coming to the area soon..

  7. Shauna says:

    Oh my gooodness B I swear when I talked to you yesterday I so thought you were over reacting. Who they hell told him he was sexy. it bothers me when men dress like women and women dress like men

  8. J says:

    Whatever. The heels are fierce. Maybe not on him. But whatever.

    And air humping…hm. Maybe he was imagining someone there?

  9. hiphop says:

    ha ha ha
    picturs funny

Leave a Reply

