What Are Maxwell’s 10 Best Tracks?

*Editor’s Note: This post was updated on 10/2/09. Click here to go to the updated post.

Am I the only one waiting for dude to drop some new tracks? Maxwell is one of the few artists that have been in my rotation since day one. To this day, I can turn ‘Now’ on, and listen to it in its entirety more than once in one sitting.

Here are my 10 favorite tracks by Maxwell:

10. ‘Til the Cops Come Knocking

9. Was My Girl

8. Whenever, Wherever, Whatever

7. Sumthin’ Sumthin’

6. Dancewitme

5. Lifetime

4. No One

3. Ascension (Don’t Ever Wonder)

2. Luxury: Cococure

And my number one track is…

1, Know ya…Ha Ha Know ya…Oooh, I gotta get to know ya…

I tried to go to YouTube to place the video on my page, but the record company has disabled all embedding.

What’s your list looking like?

This entry was posted in Favorite Songs of All Time, Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to What Are Maxwell’s 10 Best Tracks?

  1. aaron says:

    mellosmoothe:sumthin sumthin
    welcome
    the lady suite (that’s my joint)
    sumthin sumthin the mantra
    coco cure
    know these things:shouldn’t you
    REUNION
    get to know ya
    symptom unknown
    ascension remix sos band

  2. a.tiara says:

    I def love fortunate!!!!!
    whenever, wherever, whateva
    submerge

    Thats all i got for now.

  3. fortunate and lifetiome

  4. nineteen69 says:

    You already know, I am a Maxwell stalker.

    In no order:

    Lifetime
    Ascension
    Hula:Drowndeep
    Submerge:Til We Become The Sun
    W/As my girl
    Let’s Not Play The Game
    Til The Cops Come Knockin
    Fortunate
    This Woman’s Work
    Mellosmoothe: Sumthin, Sumthin (off the Love Jones Soundtrack)

  5. nineteen69 says:

    I think Hula is my favorite for the lyrics but I also love Submerge….for giving me the background music possible for my ahem…two children. Thanks Maxwell 🙂

    Lol

  6. I love Maxwell!!! My top 10 favorite tracks??? Let’s see…in no particular order:

    Matrimony: Maybe You
    Fortunate
    Suitelady (The Proposal Jam)
    This Woman’s Work (from Unplugged)
    W/As My Girl
    Seguranca (from Red, Hot + Rio)
    Softly, Softly (from Sweetback)
    Lock You Up In Love For Days (on the maxi single for Ascension)
    …Til The Cops Come Knockin’
    Drowndeep: Hula

  7. Eb the Celeb says:

    how could you leave out this woman’s work… that is a banger… but I am tired of talking about the past… if he dont hurry up and give us the first album of the trilogy I am going to have a heartattack… we were suppose to have 2 album by now

  8. charles says:

    I can’t believe you forgot Mellowsmoothe from Love Jones and This Woman’s Work….shame….

  9. J. Dakar says:

    In no particular order:
    Know These Things: Shouldn’t You
    Sumthin’ Sumthin’: Mellosmoothe
    Whenever, Wherever, Whatever
    Lonely’s the Only Company, Pts. 1 & 2
    Reunion
    This Woman’s Work
    Get to Know Ya
    Lifetime
    W/As My Girl
    Noone

  10. WOW IT IS SOOOO REFRESHING TO KNOW THAT ANOTHER 21 YEAR OLD LIKES MAXWELL! HIS LAST ALBUM WAS SO UNDER RATED. MY ONLY FAULT WITH HIM IS THAT HE DOESNT WRITE HIS OWN MUSIC.

  11. marva pringle says:

    all of them are my favorites, that’s my baby daddy,a long while ago, Maxwell was in Oakland,ca ;his trailer was parked in the alley , I got thur and knocked on his trailer a body guard , said Maxwell is resting for his performance, I was oh so close.I love Maxwell,i AM HIS #1 FAN FOREVER

  12. shauna says:

    b how you don’t have a womens work on here boy you slipping

  13. Sabrina says:

    1. Everwanting to want you to want.
    2. Coco Luxury
    3. Ascension.
    4. Sumthin’ Sumthin’
    5. Hula
    6. Dancewitme
    7. Changed
    8. Each hour, minute, second
    9. This woman’s work
    10. Fortunate

  14. BABY GiRl says:

    H0WWWWWW CAN Y0U lEAVE 0UT EACH0UR EACHSEC0ND EACHMiNUTE EACHDAY:0F MY liFE!? 0NE 0F MY FAVESS,NEXT T0 SUiTE lADY;PR0P0SAl jAM..i CANN0T GET THRU A NiGHT WiTH 0UT MY MAXWEll PlAYliST 0F All HiS S0NGZ.HE iS SiMPlY AMAZiNG,l0VE HiM.HE iS S0 S00 SEXY.

  15. Pingback: Whenever, Whereever, Whatever - Maxwell « Jessicafjohnson’s Blog

  16. Carlos says:

    My favorite maxwell songs in order

    1. Fortunate
    2. Lifetime
    3. This womans work
    4. Whenever wherever whatever
    5. Get to know ya
    6. Ascension
    7. Suite lady
    8. cococure
    9. sumthin sumthin
    10. til the cops come knockin

  17. ekushhh says:

    no particular order
    fortunate
    sumthin sumthin
    lifetime
    womens work
    whnever wherever whatever
    + more

    ahhh maxwell is love
    one talented brotha
    def. held it down at his show lastnight…
    youngins listen to him too!

    myself and my friend (18) went to see him

  18. sexualnature says:

    luxury cococure and fortunate are my favorites. I also love ascension, something something, and til the cops come knocking. This womans work is one of the most beautiful songs Ive ever heard next to Eric Benet’s Femininity. I also had the pleasure of previewing his new cd. The 1st of the trilogy and I have to admit that the two singles Pretty wings and Bad habits are the best on the cd IMO but Maxwell has such a beautiful unique voice the man could sing Mary had a little lamb to me and the panties would still come flying off. He has the one of the most captivating smiles Ive ever seen and such a smooth falsetto. Im getting all worked up just thinking about it. By the way I am 24 years old and have been in love with maxwell and his music since urban hang suite emerged in 1996. I was soulful enough at the age of 11 to realize what a gem maxwell was. The Luxury cococure video was the first video I actually had SEXUAL feelings toward when I watched. Thank you Maxwell for giving a little girl her first fantasy lol I know I just wrote a book but god was it worth it.

  19. lee walker says:

    i love this man, his voice is magical, where when is he going to do a uk tour, i get tummie flips just thinking of the possibility

  20. Kova says:

    I love this Gemini and wish him a happy belated birthday at the end of May…I missed the concert at NJPAC but hope to catch a show soon. I’m a mom of a 2yr old little girl so time is limited..
    I Love You Maxwell…Keep the music coming as you always have

    I’ve missed it and glad it’s back you were just on Mike Basden’s show and I love your voice and your everything!!Love Kova Nwk NJ

  21. Jesse says:

    i don’t know why “Pretty Wings” not on there!
    i love that song

  22. allheavens says:

    Maxwell is one of the best R&B/Neo Soul singer/songwriter to emerge in the 90s, probably the best voices we will hear for at least three generations if not one of the best vocalist ever.

    1. Lifetime – We all need to take note, “get down and try to work it all out this lifetime.”
    2. Know These Things: Shouldn’t You – Beautiful, beautiful.
    3. W/As My Girl – Simple and direct but when he sings it, my oh my.
    4. Fortunate – Break out the contraceptives!
    5. Til’ the Cops Come Knockin’ – Sexy, sexy, sexy!
    6. Ascension – One of the best bass lines EVER! You gotta get up and dance!
    7. Welcome – Don’t know why this song doesn’t get more play.
    8. This Woman’s Work – I like the version where he breaks falsetto, he did it at his Dallas concert last November and it KILLED!
    9. Sumthin’ Sumthin’ – Both versions.
    10. Changed – I LOVE this song!

    Hell, just 10? Come on, not fair. LOL

  23. Pingback: Updated: What are Maxwell’s 15 Best Tracks? « The Black Lounge

  24. TK says:

    Love all of them but Pretty wings just does something to me 😉

  25. Sunshine Raine says:

    I adore Maxwell, my favorite artist of all time.So talented, so entertaining,so captivating. One of the best moments of my life when he came to San Antonio 2014 best birthday ever.I have so many favorite songs, but one song i always go to is Matrimony. Love love it,

Leave a Reply

