Is It Really That Bad?

Hello. My name is brran1, and I’m a chronic texter.

On average, I send about 2000 text messages a month, and I recieve around the same amount if not more. Having a SideKick (or any phone with a QWERTY keyboard for that matter) makes it 10 Billion times easier to send messages. And in my opinion, it’s an easier option versus holding a hot sweaty (any person knows that when you’re on the phone for an extended period of time, the screen gets smudged some kinda way) cell phone. Outside of maybe 5-7 people, I communicate mainly through text messages/instant message. Who wants to sit on the phone with a bunch of random folks all day? I don’t.

Last Friday, while on Twitter, Tiffany In Houston (what up TIH!) sent me the link to a story on The Wall Street Journal’s website that talks about how clumsy some idiots are certain people are causing injury to themselves and how texting while moving is starting to become a public nuisance. My thing is, as an adult, how can you be so occupied by something, that you could end up walking into a two by four or walking into a ditch? Don’t get me wrong, I sure do glance down when sending texts (rarely), but I’m not going to be so occupied with sending a message that I end up causing injury to myself or others because of it.

Thoughts?

Random Thought of the Moment: “Watch, I wrote this, and a week from now, I’ll trip over my own feet while texting.”

The Song of the Moment: “Sincerly, Jane” by Janelle Monae

This entry was posted in Current Events, Society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is It Really That Bad?

  1. Charles says:

    First off…
    I don’t know much about twitter…but that looks like cyber stalking. Thats too much info…I don’t need to know what you’re doing..especially all the time with updates and stuff.

    As for texting..when I got my sidekick, my texting rate and proficiency skyrocketted. Thats all I did. I’m not really a phone person, but I text alot…probably hovering around your number. And now that I got a blackberry, I do so much more…sending emails from multiple accounts…still texting…its crazy.

    I pay attention to other things when I’m texting though….even though I’ve been guilty for bumping into another person while texting. Hahaha…but don’t trip over yourself while texting tho…not a good look…

  2. brran1 says:

    Lol I think Twitter’s more of a huge chatroom. You can update folks on what’s going on with you, but I mainly use it to communicate with others.

    idk too many ppl that get THAT involved with txting to the point where they’re removed from their surroundings. They must not know. That’s how ppl end up gettin got. Walkin into someone is understandable, but walking out into traffic or stumbling into a ditch? LOL not cool at all.

    Did you check out the tracks yet? If you did, what did you think?

  3. Tiffany In Houston says:

    I am cracking my side at ‘hot sweaty’!! That is some funny shit!!!!

    What’s good, baby boy!!

  4. Tiffany In Houston says:

    And you are correct. My texting has gone up exponentially since getting my BlackBerry. My old phone which was a Nokia E62 had a full keyboard but sent texts SLOOOWWWWW as hell. It’s on and popping now!

  5. CathrynMarie says:

    LOL..thats funny! I can’t say that has ever happened to me. I did suffer an injury from texting too much – fingers all in pain, lol. But never walking into something. That just SAD! lol =)

    CaT

  6. CathrynMarie says:

    I agree, Twitter is nothing more than a huge, slow chat room! I feel like I am on AOL at times – oh and without the drama and hooking up..LOL

    yea – sue me. Im an AOL junkie who has gone to MANY offlines, LOL

Leave a Reply

