It’s Always Something New…

I forced myself to wake up yesterday morning at 8 am (I usually wake up at 9:24 am when my Bose Sound dock cuts on on its own) so that I could get some work done before I headed to class at 1 pm. I showered, grabbed some cereal and started working.

At 10:15 am the doorbell rang.It was my 11 year old nephew. I was thoroughly shocked to see him, because school started bright and early at 8 am and here it was, almost 10:30 am and he wasn’t there.

Me: “What are you doing here? Why aren’t you in school?”

Nephew D: “I left my uniform here.”

Me: “Ok, what does that have to do with you being here at 10:15 in the morning? Why didn’t you come get it sooner?”

Nephew D: “Because my mother didn’t wake me up.”

*sigh*

My damn sister is back to her usual antics and has been for some time now. I was thoroughly pissed off about this whole situation because it’s not his fault that his mother is not doing what she’s supposed to. At this point, I made him go take a shower while I ironed his clothes (he claimed he doesn’t know how). I pushed my classwork to the side and threw on some clothes to walk him around the corner to school. About 2 minutes before we left out, here comes his mother, looking all nonchalant about everything. She ended up scolding him about the fact that he doesn’t go to bed on time and that he doesn’t like to wake up in the morning for school. At this point, I wanted to jack her up because he’s 11 and she’s damn near 41. Who’s the parent and who’s the child? I brushed past her rudely without speaking and walked him to school.

As we walked into the main office the secretary explained how he has been late to school often (mind you, school started last week) as she gave him a late pass. We went to his classroom and I spoke to his teacher while he went to go find a seat. She informed me that my nephew is an excellent student to have in the classroom, but he missed the first 3 days of school, and after that, he comes in between 10-10:30 am every morning. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t shocked at the revelation of all this information.

I told his teacher that I would take it upon myself to make sure he gets to school on time, even if I have to go down to where he lives and drag him to school in his pajamas. I explained (after thinking for a few seconds to re-word what I wanted to say) that my sister is not in the right frame of mind right now, and that if she had any more issue concerning my nephew that she could contact me, and that I would handle it. I gave her my cell phone number, home number and my mother’s work number.

I’m gonna stay on top of this situation because I absolutely REFUSE to let my nephew turn out like his older brother.

Random Thought of the Moment: “Happy Birthday Niece J, Nephew S, a.tiara, and Monnie!”

The Song of the Moment: “Barracuda” by Heart

This entry was posted in Anxiety, Family, Life, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s Always Something New…

  1. must be nice im out house at 645 each morning

  2. a.taira says:

    you are like the greatest uncle ever! I woud do the same for my neices and nephews in a heartbeat! I hope things get better for you.

    P.S. Thanks for the Bday shout!!!:-)

  3. gman says:

    Good for you! Nice to see people still taking responsibility even if it isn’t technically theirs.

  4. Timah says:

    It takes a village… personified. Your nephew’s quite fortunate to have someone like you in his corner.

  5. *Coop* says:

    That’s so responsible of you. I hate that you have to take on so much added responsibility, but I’m glad your nephew has you in his life.

  6. pserendipity says:

    Look at Uncle Brran! Gotta do what you gotta do, honey. Your sister may never appreciate it, but your nephew sure will.

    And yeah, just wanted to say after looking at your new photo…you’re tall.

  7. Sheena says:

    We need more like you in the world. It will all work out in the long run.

  8. shauna says:

    I been telling you to let me slap her triflin ass. You know i love my nephew and i refuse to let him turn out like his brother or his damn momma. the offer still stands just give me the word and it’s slap slap. I don’t know what that child would do without you.

Leave a Reply

