I’ve Had…

A pretty eventful weekend.

On Friday, Best Friend A, Best Friend E, and I went to the Estelle/Gym Class Heroes/Roots concert down at Rams Head Live! here in Baltimore. We got there a little after 6 pm, and picked up the tickets from will call. The doors were scheduled to open at 6:30, but since the venue was having problems with soundcheck, we ended up waiting outside until damn near 8pm.

Although this was my 2nd time seeing GCH, it was my first time seeing The Roots live. I’ve heard from various people that they put on an excellent live show, so that only made me want to see them more. I forgot my camera like a dumbass but I did snap a few pics on my camera phone. Check for ’em after the break.

Estelle was a good opening act for the concert, and her music was ok. Gym Class Heroes came on performing some of their classics plus material from their new album. They definitely put on a good show. I wish they would’ve performed more tracks off of The Quilt though.

Although the first two acts of the night were excellent, the highlight of the night was the performance by The Legendary Roots Crew. The term “The Roots put on a good show” was an understatement. It’s hard to explain because I don’t know how to put their performance into words, but just know that when they came on, they shut it down. They performed some tracks, but the majority of their set was just live music. They covered all the genres from blues and soul, to straight up rock and roll. It was a great show and I recommend that you check it out if comes to a city near you.

Last night, I went to the DMV Blogger meet up which was hosted by SistaSocialite. It took place at The Cheesecake Factory in Friendship Heights (DC). Fellow bloggers Dave, KayelleJaye (which is pronouced KLJ), Leon (who’s just as funny in person as he is on the site), e2deep, my homie 1/3. and Coca Cola Cutie were in attendance. 1/3 and I got there a little late since we were coming all the way from Baltimore, but it was all good because they hadn’t ordered yet. We met up, shared a few laughs, had a Q & A session about Orange Chicken with our waitress, and had an overall good time. I’m definitely looking forward to the next meet up.

This will most likely be my last Saturday off until I head to South Florida to visit The Haitians in January, so it was definitely a good day. Tomorrow, I’m gonna be back to work per usual.

Random Thought of the Moment: (I’m watching Boxing on HBO, btw) “Well damn, is someone gonna throw a punch, or are ya’ll gonna just waltz around each other all night?”

The Song of the Moment: “I Got it Made” by Special Ed.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Music, Photo Blogging, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’ve Had…

  1. That was the best Orange Chicken I’ve had. We definitely have a good time.

    The concert looked like fun, I need to check GCH’s new album.

  2. ListenToLeon says:

    It was great meeting you Saturday. That concert looked like it was great! The Roots always put on a great show, but I would have loved to have seen Gym Class Heroes and Estelle too.

  3. kayellejaye says:

    Haaaaa! Thanks for the pronunciation. No one can ever figure it out. Not even my mom and she gave me those initials.

  4. rawdawg says:

    looks like the were jamming

  5. Blogger meet-ups are always cool.

Leave a Reply

