Semester in Review: Fall, 2008

I can honestly say with out any doubt, that I’ve studied my hardest this semester.

After I left my Calculus 3 final on Friday evening, I finally breathed a sigh of relief, because it’s all over. Granted, I had a headache because that exam was harder than 3 year old Ginger Snaps, but I can honestly say that I do believe the cliche: “You get out, what you put in”. I’m just glad that it’s all over, so that I can relax for the next 6 weeks.

Calculus 3: This class, although hard at first, turned out to be easier as the semester progressed. It turns out, the reason why I did so bad on those exams was because of the fact that I was overthinking the problems. One good thing about this class was, the professor made it so that only idiots could fail. When I say that, I mean that, in addition to only counting the 3 highest out of the 4 exams towards our final grade, he dropped the lowest 6 quizzes out of I think 11 or 12 total (he also gave us 100% credit for maybe 2-4 of the quizzes b/c class ran over time). Exam 4 was a take home exam that he allowed us to work on together AND he gave us revised versions of the 4 in class exams to study for the final.

Humanties 201: Female Writing in the African Diaspora: ‘I’m not even gonna front. I BS’ed my way through this class, because with all the assignments given for Mechanics, D.E., and Calc 3, I had virtually no time to read any of the assigned novels for this class. Although, this is the case, I still completed all of the assignments, and recieved an ‘A-‘ for my midterm paper sans reading the required novels.  As far as the Final Exam goes, we had to write an In Class Essay discussing the complexities of transitioning between Mainstream society, and a closed off society in Gloria Naylor’s Mama Day and Zora Neale Hurston’s There Eyes Were Watching God.  After sitting there confused for about 10 minutes, I recalled what I read in my notes prior to coming to the exam. Now that I think about it, If I wanted to maintain a 4.0 GPA, I would’ve been an English or Humanites major.

Engineering Mechanics: It’s no secret that I’ve been struggling with this class all semester. If you follow me on Twitter (link over on the sidebar), then you knew that I was up at 1am at the Engineering Library on campus studying for the exam (which was at 8am that same morning). I got to the exam and knocked out the first question, but was confused as hell on the other 4 questions. It got to the point where I glanced over at one of the guys in my study group, and he shrugged b/c he didn’t understand the exam either. I know  some honor students that are having difficulty with this class, so I don’t feel bad that i’m lost.

Differential Equations: I honestly should’ve dropped this class at midterms with the other 14 people that dropped it. I went into the final exam with a 35% as my grade so I decided to forgo the final so that I could concentrate on studying for my Mechanics exam the following morning. I’ll be back in this class next semester, and I changed professors. Dr. B. is cool and all, but I actually need to understand this stuff, and his teaching style really doesn’t help.

This entry was posted in College, Education and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Semester in Review: Fall, 2008

  1. man you better than me, I ducked math classes like they were HIV

  2. a.tiara says:

    Im glad you made it through the semester. im proud of you!!!! Take this break to rest. spring will be here before u know it.

  3. *Coop* says:

    LOL @ the humanities major! So true!
    In all honesty, that’s what kept my GPA up. I was an econ & sociology major. I got all As in Sociology and Bs and Cs in Econ. A + C = B. lol

    Congrats on surviving the semester and good luck on the next. I think Fall 08 is a term we’ll both be remembering for a long time. It kicked my butt too.

Leave a Reply

