Lessons from 13700

Yesterday, I drove down to the DC Area (which isn’t really that far away) to spend some time with one of my favorite Bloggers.

Between bouts of laughing, Monnie and I chatted (later Robby and I) about various different things. Here’s what I learned:

Bootsy Collins should NOT make children CD’s. LOL (Ok ok, so maybe Bootsy didn’t make an actual CD, but some of the tracks Monnie played for Prince Ziggy while we were out and about did seem a tad violent. Just a tad…)

Don’t take all day to get married: There’s nothing wrong with taking care of business THEN deciding to settle down. However, one shouldn’t wait ’til 40 to decide to want to settle.

Monnie’s definition of clean is not the same as mines. When I got to 13700, the place was pretty much spotless. Monnie didn’t seem to think so though. lol

Utilizing your resources is a surefire way to guarantee success. Even if it may not be someone that’s in the exact same field as you, picking the brain of someone that’s been in Corporate America for awhile gives you insight on how things work. It never hurts to sit down with an elder (and I use that term loosely) to see how they feel about things. You’ll really be suprised at what you learn.

Being around people that are where you want to be in life will give you that extra push to make it there. I think there’s a bit of a subconscious effect that comes into play with that. I do believe that in the mantra that states “You are who you associate with”.

Monica Mingo can throw down in the kitchen!!!

I definitely had fun chillin down at 13700, and I can’t wait to make my next appearance. I had fun, and I learned a lot interacting with Monnie and Robby while I was there.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Friends, People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lessons from 13700

  1. Qui says:

    Bootsy Collins and kids songs?really?? i never would have put the 2 in the same sentence since Bootsy is all about putting his love in people’s eyes!

  2. Mel says:

    What MM dish did you enjoy? I had waffles, hashbrowns, and turkey sausage for breakfast and spaghetti for lunch.

    And did Jaru (aka Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop) con you into throwing the ball?

  3. Jansen says:

    Well, with a name like bootsy…

  4. CreoleInDC says:

    Lawd…you know that wasn’t no Bootsy Collins. ROFL! Though some of the lyrics on the kiddie cd sure were violent! LOL!

Leave a Reply

