We Need A Resolution

Usually around 12/28 or so, I start to reflect on how far I’ve come during the course of the outgoing year. However, with me just taking a breather from the past semester, making New Year Resolutions were the farthest thing from my mind.

However, I have been thinking for about a day or two, and I have come up with a few simple things that I would like to implement/accomplish by January 5, 2010.

Come up with and stick to a set schedule: This will probably be the hardest thing for me to accomplish because I usually find it hard adhering to schedules. While I was Atlanta this past summer, I surprisingly came up with and stuck with a schedule. I ate, went to sleep, and woke up the same time every day. With me being back in school mode and not in Full-Time-Job mode, it may require some tweaking, but I do believe that it should help to alleviate many of the issues I had when it came to material retention and studying.

Continue to eat healthy and join a Gym or the Y: Looking at a picture of myself from May of 2008 and another from December 2008, it’s obvious that I’ve lost weight. This year, My eldest niece and I have decided to team up and tackle Bally’s or the Y (haven’t decided yet) by the end of February. My initial goal (that I set on 12/30/07) was to lose all of my excess weight by my 23rd birthday (12/16/09). Seeing as how that’s a little more than 11 months from now, I need to get to it. I doubt I’ll lose it all, but I’ll definitely be on my way towards that goal.

Get my finances in order: After previewing my credit score a few weeks back, it’s safe to assume that I was in a rush to improve my finances. I signed up for mint.com, and I’m in the process of researching High-Yield savings accounts and IRA’s. I hope to have a minimum of $1000 saved by the end of the year, in addition to being a minimum of a month ahead on ALL of my bills.

Read one non-school related book a month: When I took the trip down to visit one of my favorite bloggers last week, I set foot inside a bookstore that was not affiliated with a university of some type for the first time in about 10 years. My book for the month of January is Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point, and the book for the month of February is Henriette Anne Klauser’s Write it Down and Make it Happen. Reading something that distracts me from anything pertaining to Math or Engineering should definitely help me focus on those subjects when the time comes for it. (By the way, if you have any recommendations for books I should check out, post them in the comment section please.)

Continue to build and strenghten the relationship between my siblings and I: The day after I went to go see Monnie, I took the 4 hour (would’ve been 2 hours if I left BEFORE Rush Hour started) drive to spend the night down at my younger brother’s place near Richmond, Virginia. In the less than 24 hours I spent with him and my stepmom, I learned alot about my Paternal family. Hopefully we’ll be able to find our older sister and unite the four of us (my dad’s kids) for the first time in our lives.

Get more involved on campus: I have to try to figure out how I can do this without overextending myself. I’m already involved with three organizations. I’m one of the Section Editors for the Yearbook and I’m on the E-Board for one organization.

Hone my skills in Photography: Hopefully, you’ve seen the post before this by now lol. I have alot of ideas on how I could possibly expand my skills, so look out for more posts centering on my shots.

This entry was posted in College, Education, Family, Friends, Health, Life, Operation-Shrink-A-Gut, People, Photography, Relationships, The Haitians and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We Need A Resolution

  1. CreoleInDC says:

    You can do whatever you want to do. Fo real…fo sho!

  2. gman says:

    what kind of books do you like to read? fiction, non-fiction, current events??

  3. 1/3 says:

    These are some great goals for yourself! Im sure u can do it:-)

  4. Man I still have not read the tipping point. It’s on my list though. i can recommend

    The Five Secrets You Must Discover Before You Die by John Izzo

    and

    All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten by Robert Fulghum

    both are really good. Good luck with your resolutions

Leave a Reply

