Another Life Lesson: Purpose

My eldest brother turned 40 on January 18. Of the 40 years he’s been on this earth, he’s spent the last 17 of those years in a maximum security prison. Our relationship (if you could call it that) has been strained, and although he has tried to reach out to me on several occasions during his incarceration, I’ve resisted for reasons beyond me. I honestly don’t know why I’ve done so. I do know that it’s definitely hard to see him there, when I do go visit him. I guess if I can take the time to blog, I can take the time to type a letter to my brother, huh?

A while back, he wrote me a letter and enclosed the following quote by Ralph Marston on a sheet of paper. Unknown to him, I’ve held onto it and read it from time to time. It makes me think , and hopefully it will do the same for you.

Somewhere inside, somehow you know that there’s a purpose for you on this day. Let that purpose come to the surface and bring it fully to life.

Authentic purpose is not a deep, dark secret that you must struggle to discover. Decide to allow it, and purpose will find you where you are.

Purpose is not so much a matter of what you do. Purpose is more about the way you  feel while doing whatever it is you are doing.

Those things you know without having to learn, connect you to purpose. Purpose is not merely what you think you might believe, but what you’re certain that you are.

Purpose is the unconditional, limitless realm in your life that cannot be diminished by anything that happens. Whatever you undertake from the sense of that purpose brings great fulfillment and richness to life.

Always you have known that there is purpose within you, a purpose essential to who you are. Give it to life again and again, for you’ll never tire of seeing its shine.

The Song of the Moment: “You Brought The Sunshine” by The Clark Sisters.

This entry was posted in Family, Life, Life Lessons, People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Life Lesson: Purpose

  1. My relationship with my brothers is strained as well. Haven’t spoken to either one of them in almost 12 years. It’s tough.

    Sidebar: I just put “You Brought The Sunshine” on my iPod. I have loved that song for years.

  2. Tiffany In Houston says:

    Write your brother back. It doesn’t have to be long. Just write him.

    My brother was in prison too. He’s out now and I still don’t really know him. I regret that.

  3. 1/3 says:

    I agree with tiffany you sjpuld write to him. I dont have any siblings in jail but i know how hard it can be when u feel you dont relate to them anymore. you both still have time to create a relationship.

Leave a Reply

