Confessions of a Suspected Workaholic

I pride myself on being a team player. When I say that, it’s meant to construe that I don’t mind coming into work when I get called in. It rarely happens, but when it does, I make my way in here. Now that I think about it, in the almost two years that I’ve worked at this spot, I’ve come every time they’ve called except for once or twice.

As I sit here at my desk I can’t help but think; do I work too much?

I work here at the hospital every weekend from 7 am to 7:30 pm. Although this may be seen as a damper by most, this is actually A good thing (Well, I think it is.) At my last job (also here at the hospital), I worked certain shifts during the week, but I’d have off every pay weekend. That job was cool because they made my work schedule around my school schedule and then during school breaks, I’d work full time. Although the hours were cool the pay was so-so and the actual job was BS. But I can’t complain too much because it paid the bills.

The new job (my current job) is cool as well because I have the opportunity to get homework done here, but it’s put a damper on my “social life”.  It didn’t bother me much at first because 1.) I didn’t really go out that much, 2.) I’m not much of a club person. 3.) Who wouldn’t mind making extra money?

Over the past few weeks I’ve been doing alot of thinking. If I were to reminisce later on in life about my college days, what memories would I have, besides working and going to class? Not many if I stay on the current path i’m on now.

For all of my blog readers that are college graduates or are employed full time, how did/do you maintain a work/school/life balance?

This entry was posted in College, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Confessions of a Suspected Workaholic

  1. Tiffany In Houston says:

    I only worked during the summer when I was in college. That’s how I was able to kick it, but I swear I was involved in so much extra curriricular stuff by my senior year that I had to let some stuff go.

  2. Back when I enjoyed my job it wasn’t an issue, being at work was almost like being at home. Now I’m usually burnt out by the time I get home so I don’t have much of a “life” but I will again real soon…I mean REAL soon.

  3. Jansen says:

    Get paid. That’s my response.

  4. TravelDiva says:

    Very carefully.

  5. gman says:

    I actually went to school online while working construction full time. It was a little easier for me to keep up with everything though since I was already married and a father. Being the latter there means you don’t go out much anyways.

    Prior to my daughter and my wife though I did go to school and work full time. But the school part didn’t last because it always took a back seat to life and work.

Leave a Reply

