Beyond Busy.

That’s what I’ve been since school started. I know this is only the 8th entry that I’ve posted this month, but everything’s been going at a fast pace! Who would have honestly thought that school, extracurriculars AND working almost full time would actually keep one busy?

Next month, I’ll at least attempt to blog twice once a week (we’ll see how that goes).

Anyways, here’s what’s been going on with your boy brran1 since school started.

I’ve been coming in to work almost daily since the semester began. One of my coworkers had to take an unexpected leave of absence, so I’ll be here covering for her until she returns. I know that working on weekends and 3 days a week cuts into my study time and all, but I’ve managed to effectively use holding what little study time I have. Thankfully, I’ve been able to study at work (on weekends) and during the week, I’m usually up until around 1 or 2 am finishing homework.

Last Saturday, I attended the Black Engineer of the Year Awards Conference Career Fair here in Baltimore down at the Convention Center. The career fair had representation from many large corporations such as Lockheed Martin, Booz, Allen and Hamilton, and even the Military was there scouting for civilian employees. Unfortunately, there weren’t too many people there looking for Civil Engineers, but I did manage to submit some resumés to the Army Corps of Engineers; Booz, Allen & Hamilton; and the Federal Aviation Administration. These are definitely some good prospects and I definitely need to follow up with them regarding their internship opportunities.

After I left the Career Fair, I went back to campus and met up with one of my classmates to study for my Differential Equations exam that took place the following Monday Morning. We sat there confused, scratching our heads until the Security Guard kicked us out of the Engineering Library at 6pm. I had every intention of going home to study that night, but I ordered a medium Chicken Pizza from Domino’s and Nephew D and I just ended up chilling out watching UFC on Spike. I felt bad because I knew I had studying to do, but hey, even I have to stop and relax for a few hours.

The next morning, I woke up around 11 and after watching HGTV for a couple of hours, I set up shop int he Dining Room and studied D.E. After working out the examples in the book, I realized that it wasn’t that hard after all. I studied off and on from about 1pm to 12:30 am. The next morning I sat for the test and I did the best I could. The exam didn’t seem all that hard, but I have yet to find out how I did because the professor has yet to give the exams back.

I spent all that time studying for my Differential Equations exam, and in the end, I ended up not studying for my Calculus 3 exam. I went into that test blindly and again did the best I could. We (the class) got our exams back on Monday and although I got one of the higher grades on the exam, I believe almost everyone in the class failed.  The professor told us that he selected the test questions from ANY question in the chapter whether or not it was covered in the homework or in class. I already know I have to plan to somehow work on every question in the chapter for the next test, because we’ll never know what the professor will put on the exam.

In addition to all that, I’ve been covering some events on campus for the Yearbook. (And I just remembered that I had an article due a few hours ago that I have yet to start.) It definitely is a change for me being on campus (in a non studying capacity) so much, but I’m adjusting to it.

This entry was posted in Anxiety, College, Education, Life, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beyond Busy.

  1. Jansen says:

    If EVERYONE failed, isn’t that more of a comment on the professor?

Leave a Reply

