The Definition.

I was talking to the homie Mikey McFly on Twitter, and we had a pretty solid albeit brief convo about how people are reflections of  and defined by their environments. 

I can think back to several occasions when I’ve shocked people by telling them where I from. I actually had to show my Driver’s License to one person who didn’t believe what I was telling them. Why is it that some people give rough neighborhoods and their inhabitants negative connotations?

For the majority of my life, I’ve lived in the Park Heights neighborhood of Baltimore, Maryland. Growing up, I’ve been exposed to Police Raids, Crime, Drug Abuse, Home Invasions, Theft, and some more ish; and believe it or not, all this took place inside my own home before I started 2nd Grade. Living through these types of things, many people wonder why I haven’t decided to follow along the same path that my older siblings have.

“I may be from the hood, but I’m far from being hood”

I’ve noticed that many people allow their environments to define who they are. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for people having pride and not forgetting where you come from, but I think that most people take that too far. I think that some people allow their “hood” to be their life. They rarely if ever leave and they tend to not think outside of their immediate surroundings.

When this occurs, a cycle is set into motion where you have people with this mindset having kids who will more than likely adopt the same mindset unless exposed to something new.

After everything I just said, I may sound like a hypocrite for this, but I am a product of my environment. The only difference between myself and others, is I differentiate between what ideas and lessons I want to incorporate into my own life.

Can you say the same?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Definition.

  1. Mikey McFly says:

    This is what I’m talking about…. great post! Keep up the good work

  2. S_Wash says:

    You are a diamond in the rough! =)

Leave a Reply

