Week In Review

Last week was my first week on my new internship. I wanted to go back to Atlanta to work for Georgia DOT again; however, since the economy went to crap, that opportunity fell through. I spent the majority of the Fall ’08 semester on the hunt for new internships and when this opportunity with the Federal Goverment presented itself, I jumped on it faster than Sherman Klump on a box of Ding-Dongs.

Tuesday: I woke up around 7am and started getting ready for work. I had to be at work at 8:30 am so I figured that if I left for work around 7:50, I’d make it there a little early just in case I got lost trying to get there. As I merged onto the Beltway, I wondered why there was so much traffic. (In my defense, I never have to get on the beltway to go to the Hospital job or to school, and even when I do get caught up in rush hour traffic, it still never takes more than 25 minutes to get to my destination.) After detouring through Baltimore County, and then getting lost once I got to the location, I didn’t make it to the office until 9:20am.

Once I got to the office, I looked through the glass door and noticed that all the lights were off. I thought that either they left me since I was late and didn’t call or that someone printed the wrong address on my acceptance letter.  I walked into the office and when I greeted the secretary, she welcomed me and said that it was fine that I was late because they didn’t have power in the office when she arrived at 5am. I met with my supervisor and he said that they could start all of my HR stuff once the power came back on as the majority of the files I needed to fill out had to be printed from the in-office computer. My supervisor gave me a copy of a Safety Manual and told me to flip through it while I waited. He also told me not to fall asleep as the manual wasn’t exactly Maxim Magazine.

The Boss and I went to lunch at noon since the power hadn’t come back on, and after that, he took me to the field office where I’ll be working for the summer (outside of the week or two I’ll be going to another project site in DC). While in the field office, I met everyone in the office (3 of which are Morgan Grads!) and looked at specs the rest of the day.

Wednesday: I went back to the main office to start on my HR stuff. I spent the entire morning there filing out papers and trying to recall addresses and info that I haven’t thought about since high school. After that, I went to the field office and spent the rest of the day looking at the various plans (specs, floorplans, Electrical plans, etc) for the complex.

Thursday: Had a 7am Safety training to attend so that I could go on-site. I finished with that around 9am and then looked at plans from then until 2pm. At 2, I went on my first on-site visit and was in awe as I got the chance to see all these various processes that go into constructing a building in front of my eyes.  I got the chance to watch a concrete sub-floor get poured, walk on the 3rd floor of a building that doesn’t actually have a floor, and just get a general vibe of the goings-on on a construction site.

Friday: I spent all day looking at plans. At this point, I haven’t had the opportunity to start on work because I  have to wait for my permanent ID to come in that gives me access to Computers and everything else in the office.

Hopefully it’ll be in by the end of this week so that I can start on some actual work.

This entry was posted in Confessions of A Traveling Intern and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week In Review

  1. Sincere says:

    What up bruh!!! Congrats on the internship!! sounds like you’re gonna be pretty busy. Good Luck!!

  2. Tiffany In Houston says:

    I am proud of you for getting your hustle on!!

Leave a Reply

