Bad Nerves.

Not keeping up with the news at times can be a bit of a double edged sword. It’s a bad thing because you miss out on what’s going on around you, but it’s also a good thing because the media loves to talk a topic to death and I can do without hearing about Tiger Woods’ escapades for the 300th time.

Last Tuesday, I went to a friend’s house for Dinner. I hadn’t really been paying much attention to the news so when “Earthquake in Haiti” flashed across the screen, it piqued my interest. 

I saw the story… the pictures and blocked it out of my head until I got home later that evening.

The next morning, I called my aunt in Miami to ask her if we had any family in Haiti during the earthquake. She told me that her sister (my aunt) and her uncles (my great-uncles) were in Port-Au-Prince at the time of the earthquake and she hadn’t heard anything.

The next day, I got word from my stepmother that my aunt was fine. She left Port-Au-Prince immediately after the earthquake and is staying with family elsewhere on the island. As far as my great-uncles go, I have yet to hear anything about them.

From my perspective, I am thankful because I only have three relatives (to my knowledge) in Haiti. I couldn’t begin to imagine how certain people feel when both sides of their families are still in Haiti and have yet to be contacted.

Now that I’m writing, I really don’t remember wanted to go with this post. I just want everyone out there to be thankful for what they have and to remember that as much as you could complain about your life and what you have. There are people out there that have it way worse.

This entry was posted in Family, Life, People, The Haitians and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bad Nerves.

  1. Dr. Melly says:

    Hope you hear from your great uncles soon. I’ll be praying.

Leave a Reply

