The Return.

I’ve been staring at myself in the mirror for the past few weeks and I really don’t like what I see. Up until last August, I was doing well with my weight loss goals. I really didn’t like going to the gym, but I went. Between Kickboxing, Pilates and the bit of weight training I did, I was maintaining my body weight and was feeling pretty good about myself and good in general.

But towards the end of August, my world experienced a bit of a shift. I was laid off of my first post-college job with about a week’s notice. In addition to this, the weekend I lost my job, I was moving to a new apartment about 15 miles away from where I lived and was dealing with a super-stressful relationship/situation at the time. Once this “perfect storm” happened (in addition to having to conserve funds by any means necessary), I stopped going to the gym.

Luckily for me, I ended up interviewing for and getting another job less than a week later, but not much else changed. I was now about 25 miles away from my former gym, in a new town and still stressed out from this dating situation. As time went on, that relationship dramatically imploded and ended. I started working again and even picked up not one but two new gym memberships. For whatever reason, I haven’t been able to go to the gym consistently. I know in my mind that I need to go to the gym, but when it comes time to go, I don’t and I oscillate between talking myself out of it or just not feeling like going.

For the past couple months, I’ve been feeling a bit out of sorts. I’m not sure if it’s mental or if it is actually my health, but I don’t feel as good as I used to. And with this, I know it’s time for a change. Every year I set a goal of finally losing the weight I’ve been carrying around since childhood, but now it’s time to see it through. I’m realizing that I have to hold myself accountable for my goals and push myself toward where I want to be health-wise and in life.

Starting today, I’m headed back to the gym. And I’m praying that I can remain consistent with it. Operation Shrink-A-Gut is back and in full force.

The Song of the Moment: “Git Up, Get Out” by Outkast

 

This entry was posted in Health, Life, Operation-Shrink-A-Gut and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Return.

  1. 1/3 says:

    welcome back B! I’m going through something similar. Just talk yourself into going to the gym or doing some kind of physical activity everyday! It will become a habit before you know it! 🙂

Leave a comment